NEET Exam Eligibity Syllabus And Pattern

NEET Exam Eligibity Syllabus And Pattern

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) is the primary medical entrance examination in India for admission to undergraduate medical (MBBS) and dental (BDS) courses offered by various medical and dental colleges across the country. NEET replaced multiple medical entrance exams conducted by individual states and institutions, aiming to standardize the admission process and ensure fairness and transparency.

Here’s an overview of the NEET exam and its eligibility criteria:

  1. Eligibility Criteria:

    • Age Limit: Candidates must be at least 17 years old at the time of admission or should attain the age on or before December 31 of the year of admission. There is no upper age limit for NEET.
    • Educational Qualification: Candidates must have completed 10+2 or equivalent examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English as core subjects. They must have passed these subjects individually and obtained a minimum aggregate percentage as specified by the respective authorities.
    • Marks Required: The minimum aggregate percentage required in the qualifying examination varies for different categories (General, SC/ST/OBC, PwD). Candidates are advised to check the official notification for the specific requirements.
    • Nationality: Indian nationals, Non-Resident Indians (NRIs), Overseas Citizens of India (OCIs), Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs), and foreign nationals are eligible to appear for NEET.
  2. Exam Pattern:

    • NEET is conducted as a pen-and-paper-based test (offline mode) and consists of multiple-choice questions (MCQs).
    • The exam covers topics from Physics, Chemistry, and Biology (Botany and Zoology) based on the NCERT curriculum of Classes 11 and 12.
    • The total duration of the exam is 3 hours. It comprises 180 questions, with 45 questions from each subject.
    • Each correct answer is awarded 4 marks, and one mark is deducted for each incorrect answer.
  3. Syllabus:

    • The syllabus for NEET is prescribed by the National Medical Commission (NMC) and is based on the NCERT curriculum for Classes 11 and 12.
    • It covers a wide range of topics in Physics, Chemistry, and Biology, ensuring a comprehensive assessment of the candidates’ understanding and knowledge.
  4. Preparation:

    • Preparation for NEET requires thorough study and understanding of the concepts covered in the syllabus.
    • Candidates often enroll in coaching classes, use preparatory books, online resources, and take mock tests to enhance their preparation and performance in the exam.
  5. Competition and Results:

    • NEET witnesses intense competition as lakhs of candidates appear for a limited number of seats in medical and dental colleges across India.
    • The results of NEET are typically declared a few weeks after the exam date. Candidates can check their scores and ranks online.
  6. Counseling and Admission:

    • After the results are announced, candidates who qualify NEET are required to participate in centralized counseling conducted by the respective authorities.
    • Based on their NEET scores and ranks, candidates can choose their preferred colleges and courses during the counseling process.
Scroll to Top